Scribblers’ Literary Society

Name: Scribblers’ Literary Society

Time: 1911 - ?

Epoch: Early 20th Century

Category: Scholarly Society

Institution Category: Informing

Institution Group: Public Community Education

Coordinates: -27.4775833333333, 153.029195

Street Address: Scribblers’ Literary Society, c/ Hermiene Ulrich, The University of Queensland, George Street, Brisbane City

Suburb: Brisbane City (CBD)

Sector: Independent \'Community\'

Local Study Area: Spring Hill-CBD-Fortitude Valley-New Farm (Inner City)

Study Stage: MBNH Stage 9 Local Study Areas

Suggest An Edit
View Your Faviourties

The Scribblers is a Brisbane writers’ club founded in 1911. The name Theta Literary Society was initially chosen, but changed in 1912 to Scribblers’ Literary Society. Initially, fortnightly meetings were held at which members would, in rotation, read original papers on any subject except religion and politics. Later, meetings became monthly and in 1986, the ban on religion and politics was lifted. Many of Brisbane’s most prominent women have been Scribblers.

Geographic Description 1: Inside The Green Belt

Geographic Description 2: Brisbane River

Geographic Description 3: Flood Plains (Major); High River Banks (still floods); Ridgeline (Slopes off Wickham Tce)


Stewart, Jean. Scribblers: A Ladies Literary Society in Brisbane 1911. J. & D. Steward, Kenmore, Qld, 2007.

Image Citations

Hermiene Ulrich (Mod Languages), as part of the group photo of University of Queensland’s first lecturers. UQFL479. Fryer Library miscellaneous photograph collection.