Coorparoo Fire Station

Stage Number: MBSH.03.06.06

Group: Southern

Local Study Area: Greenslopes-Coorparoo

Epoch: Early 20th Century

Street Address: 219 Cavendish Rd. Coorparoo

Latitude & Longitude: -27.49650278,153.06036111

Time Link: 1935

Map Link: 1929

Image Time Point: 1929

Suggest An Edit
View Your Faviourties


Built 1935, Architects: Atkinson and Conrad. In 1931, the Coorparoo District Progress Association. Along with similar bodies, lobbied for the placement of a suburban fire station in their area. Because of the Great Depression (1929-39), Queensland government funds were limited and as, a result, the state Fire Board eventually borrowed £22,000 from the Commonwealth Bank of Australia to fund construction. This two-storey fire station was officialy opened on 26 September 1935 by the local state member John Brown M.L.A. The new station was allotted the latest U.K.-made Dennis turbine fire engine, with its distinctive rear, extension ladder. The station responded to fires as far away as Holland Park and Camp Hill. In the 1990, the Queensland Fire Service upgraded its fleet, resulting in the closure of many of the small fire stations, as they could not house the new, larger engines. Coorparoo Fire Station closed prior to 2003.


Department of Enviroment and Heritage Protection, Queensland Heritage Register citation No.600569

Image Citations

Map References

QSA. QSA Series 1690 Civic Survey of the City of Brisbane – AIAG2 Series. 4 chains to the inch. City of Brisbane, civic survey maps. Sheet 12, 4 chains to an inch. Parish of Yeerongpilly, Shire of Coorparoo County of Stanley. 61894