Fort Lytton

Stage Number: MBSH.04.01.04

Group: Eastern & Bay

Local Study Area: Hemmant-Lytton-Port of Brisbane

Epoch: Late 19th Century

Street Address: 160 South St. Lytton

Latitude & Longitude: -27.41119722,153.15094444

Time Link: 1880

Map Link: 1880

Image Time Point: 1880

Suggest An Edit
View Your Faviourties


Built 1880-81, the architect was Sir William Jervois. Lytton Hill chosen to defend the entrance to the Brisbane River from a raid by the Russian Pacific Fleet. Barracks came from the Brisbane Boys Reformatry. The (1873) electric telegraph station with residence was enclosed by a partial redoubt (1885). Later, ‘disappearing’ artillery was added to the redoubt. Improvements in 1901-03 saw Light Horsemen’s stables. It was the site of the Queensland Defence Force’s Easter Encampments, Quarantine Station and a WWI training camp. From 1919-31, the grounds, behind the redoubt, was Brisbane’s first airfield. Only partly-manned, except in 1885 (Russian War Scare) and WWII, when It was an Inner Examination Battery and radar station. Closed in the 1960s to become one of two Brisbane national parks.


Discover Queensland at war,; Brisbane City Council, Heritage Trail – Wynnum-Manly Series No.8 [1st Edition], (Brisbane: Brisbane City Council, 1991)

Image Citations

Map References

QSA. QSA Series 1748 Moreton District, County of Stanley Maps – A1 Series. 8 chains to the inch. Town of Lytton, Parish of Tingalpa, County of Stanley. 8 chains to the inch. Survey Office, Brisbane. 620673