Sherwood Divisional Board

Stage Number: MBSH.05.02.13

Group: Western

Local Study Area: Corinda-Oxley

Epoch: Late 19th Century

Street Address: 660 Oxley Road, Corinda

Latitude & Longitude: -27.54055556,152.98173611

Time Link: 1891

Map Link: 1891

Image Time Point: 1891

Suggest An Edit
View Your Faviourties


On 11 November 1879, the Yeerongpilly Division was created as one of 74 divisions within Queensland under the Divisional Boards Act 1879. On 16 October 1886, parts of Yeerongpilly Division were excised to create Stephens Division (later Shire of Stephens).[1] On 24 January 1891, further parts of Yeerongpilly Division were excised to create Sherwood Division (later Shire of Sherwood). With the passage of the Local Authorities Act 1902, Sherwood became a Shire on 31 March 1903.


Oxley-Chemler History Group Inc.

Image Citations

Map References

QSA. QSA Series 1748 Moreton District, County of Stanley Maps – A1 Series. 1 mile to the inch. Queensland Census Districts. 1 mile to the inch. Government Engraving Office, Brisbane. 620650