Somerville House School

Stage Number: MBSH.03.01.19

Group: Southern

Local Study Area: West End-South Brisbane-North Woolloongabba

Epoch: Early 20th Century

Street Address: 254 Vulture St. South Brisbane

Latitude & Longitude: -27.48334167,153.02458611

Time Link: 1919

Map Link: 1925

Image Time Point: 1925

Suggest An Edit
View Your Faviourties


Established in 1899 as the Brisbane High School for Girls, the School was eventually named after the Scottish scientific writer, Mary Somerville (1780–1872). Somerville House Girls Boarding School’s first building opened in 1919, incorporating the 1890 Cumbooquea, the residence built for Ann Stephens. She was the widow of politician T.B. Stephens (died 1877) , MLA for South Brisbane. Hilltop Cumbooquea, with its octaganal tower (architect: GHM Addison) overlooked the Town Hall and Municipal Library. The house was Others were added to the site, including a Gothic-style Library/Art Studio In 1930s. It became the Chapel. The school closed from 1942-45, as it requisitioned for the U.S. Army. Postwar, it evolved into a prestigious G.P.S. campus. Somerville House is owned by the Presbyterian and Methodist Schools Association (PMSA).


P.Newell and Unk White, Brisbane Sketchbook, (Brisbane: Rigby Ltd., 1967); Brisbane City Council, Exploring the City of South Brisbane: Heritage Trail Series No.11, (Brisbane, BCC, c1999)Discover Queensland at war,;

Image Citations

Map References

QSA. QSA Series ID 2043 City of Brisbane and Suburbs Maps – A1A Series. 40 feet to the inch. City of South Brisbane, County of Stanley. 40 feet to one inch. Metropolitan Water Supply and Sewerage Board, Brisbane.. 634576