South Brisbane Municipal Council

Stage Number: MBSH.03.01.92

Group: Southern

Local Study Area: West End-South Brisbane-North Woolloongabba

Epoch: Late 19th Century

Street Address: 263 Vulture St, South Brisbane

Latitude & Longitude: -27.48305556,153.02536111

Time Link: 1892

Map Link: 1895

Image Time Point: 1895

Suggest An Edit
View Your Faviourties


The South Brisbane Municipal Council first met on this site on 1 July 1892. Built 1892, Architect: John Hall & Sons. South Brisbane Municipal Council was formed in 1888 covering Woolloongabba,West End, Highgate Hill, Dutton Park & South Brisbane. This was that Council’s HQ until the amalgamation of all the local councils into the Greater Brisbane City Council in 1925. That council used the ex-Town Hall as as a Works Deot then converted into flats for migrant City Engineers and families. In WWII (1942-44), it was the U.S. Provost Corps (military police) HQ. It was used as the Queensland Conservatorium of Music (C1967) and, later, part of Somerville House school.


P.Newell & Unk White, Brisbane Sketchbook, (Brisbane: Rigby Ltd., 1967); Discover Queensland at war, Queensland World War II Historic Places website; Cohen, Kay. with Val Donovan, Ruth Kerr, Margaret Kowald, Lyndsay Smith, and Jean Stewart. Lost Brisbane and Surrounding Areas 1860-1960. Volume 1. RHSQ. 2014. page 108

Image Citations

Map References

QSA. QSA Series 1748 Moreton District, County of Stanley Maps – A1 Series. 120 links to the inch. Burns, Philip & Co’s, and Hancock’s Wharves, Parish of South Brisbane, County of Stanley. 120 links to the inch. Survey Office, Brisbane. (quarter-size). 620436