South Brisbane Town Hall

Stage Number: MBSH.03.01.17

Group: Southern

Local Study Area: West End-South Brisbane-North Woolloongabba

Epoch: Late 19th Century

Street Address: 263 Vulture St. South Brisbane

Latitude & Longitude: -27.48321111,153.02535556

Time Link: 1892

Map Link: 1895

Image Time Point: 1895

Suggest An Edit
View Your Faviourties


Built 1892, the architect was John Hall and Sons. South Brisbane Municipal Council was formed in 1888 covering Woolloongabba,West End, Highgate Hill, Dutton Park and South Brisbane. This was that Council’s HQ until the amalgamation of all the local councils into the Greater Brisbane City Council in 1925. That council used the ex-Town Hall as as a Works Deot then converted into flats for migrant City Engineers and families. In WWII (1942-44), it was the U.S. Provost Corps (military police) HQ. It was used as the Queensland Conservatorium of Music (C1967) and, later, part of Somerville House school.


P.Newell and Unk White, Brisbane Sketchbook, (Brisbane: Rigby Ltd., 1967); Discover Queensland at war,;

Image Citations

Map References

QSA. QSA Series 1748 Moreton District, County of Stanley Maps – A1 Series. 120 links to the inch. Burns, Philip & Co’s, and Hancock’s Wharves, Parish of South Brisbane, County of Stanley. 120 links to the inch. Survey Office, Brisbane. (quarter-size). 620436