Scribblers’ Literary Society

<< Back To Map


Name: Scribblers’ Literary Society

Group: Scholarly Society

Type: Institutional Location

Years at Location: 1911-?

<< Back To Map

The Scribblers is a Brisbane writers’ club founded in 1911. The name Theta Literary Society was initially chosen, but changed in 1912 to Scribblers’ Literary Society. Initially, fortnightly meetings were held at which members would, in rotation, read original papers on any subject except religion and politics. Later, meetings became monthly and in 1986, the ban on religion and politics was lifted. Many of Brisbane’s most prominent women have been Scribblers.

Impact on Brisbane Society

Further research is underway.


Stewart, Jean. Scribblers: A Ladies Literary Society in Brisbane 1911. J. & D. Steward, Kenmore, Qld, 2007.

Image Citations

Hermiene Ulrich (Mod Languages), as part of the group photo of University of Queensland's first lecturers. UQFL479. Fryer Library miscellaneous photograph collection.

Back To Map