Griffith University (Nathan Campus)

Griffith University (Nathan Campus)

Name: Griffith University (Nathan Campus)

Time: -

Epoch: Late 20th Century

Category: Teritary (University) School

Institution Category: Education

Institution Group: Tertiary

Coordinates: -27.555087, 153.0532255

Street Address: 170 Kessels Rd, Nathan QLD 4111

Suburb: Nathan

Sector: State

Local Study Area: Salisbury-Nathan

Study Stage: MBSH Stage 2 Local Study Areas

Suggest An Edit
View Your Faviourties

Griffith University was founded in 1971, but opened its doors in 1975, introducing Australia’s first degrees in environmental science and Asian studies. Initially existing in the first 15 years with the one campus at Nathan and 451 students, the University now has five physical campuses spanning three cities, the largest of which are the Gold Coast campus at Southport and the Nathan campus in Brisbane.

Geographic Description 1: The Green Belt (Part of)

Geographic Description 2: Rocky Water Hole [creek] (Headwater)

Geographic Description 3: Not Prone to Flooding; Mountain (Toohey); Ridgeline (Mountainous, Nathan); State Forest


Noel Quirke. Preparing for the Future: A History of Griffith University, 1971-1996 . Nathan, Griffith University: Boolarong Press, 1996

Image Citations

Unidentified. (n.d.). Aerial Photograph of Griffith University’s Nathan Campus in Brisbane, Queensland, SLQ Collection reference: 29460 Two aerial photographs of Nathan Campus.